Oxfordshire: National Business Awards win for Newton Europe

Oxfordshire-based Newton Europe was announced as the winner in the Santander Small to Medium Sized Business of the Year category of the National Business Awards, at the awards ceremony and gala dinner hosted by Sky’s Dermot Murnaghan. 

This category recognises the SME that has maintained consistent growth and strong financial performance, understands its customer, has full buy-in from staff with strong leadership, and is continually innovating and investing in research and development to support future growth.

Newton, which is based in Kingston Bagpuize, specialises in helping its clients get more out of their operational processes and supply chains to deliver a 10-50% improvement. It works across a range of sectors including, manufacturing, air, land and sea, services, healthcare and local government.

Steve Pateman, head of UK banking at Santander, said: “This year was probably the hardest year to select the Santander Small to Medium Sized Business of the Year. There were many strong contenders with a mix of traditional and new businesses, and it was good to have the opportunity to acknowledge the significant achievements of Newton Europe, as well as the tremendous progress of The Bread Company as SME of the Year.”

The National Business Awards judges said: “Transforming organisations in multiple sectors, Newton Europe has set out to conquer a market dominated by big consultancies with a market leading depth of knowledge and tailored service.”

The 12th annual National Business Awards held at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel was opened by a video address from Rt Hon David Cameron who acknowledged the National Business Awards for recognising excellence in enterprise and honouring some of Britain’s biggest business success stories.

The Prime Minister’s message was followed by Sir Bob Geldof, who addressed the 1,200 attending business leaders on the role of business in society.

HRH Prince Andrew also announced his support for the launch of The Duke of York New Entrepreneur of the Year Award for 2014.